Skip to content

University of Hertfordshire win two prestigious innovative awards

THE Awards are an opportunity for institutions across the UK to come together to recognise and celebrate the work of their academic professionals and how they are positively impacting students and wider communities.  

University of Hertfordshire Associate Professor, Dr Theo Gilbert, was awarded the ‘Most Innovative Teacher of the Year’ for his sustained commitment to advancing and positivity influencing the student experience.  Dr Gilbert has created a framework using innovative group work skills to encourage students from different backgrounds to mix, which also helps reduce the attainment gap.

The ‘Research Project of the Year: STEM’ award was won by Professor Rob Chilcott, Head of Toxicology. This highlights the far-reaching impact and potential of the innovative project, which helped the US government to develop new guidance on decontamination. 

As part of the leading business-facing University of Hertfordshire Group, we are committed to developing and delivering innovative solutions to support students and SMEs across the UK.

Congratulations to all winners of THE Awards 2018. View the full list of categories and winners here.